HomeAbout NDECContactMeetingsDisaster Guide

National Disaster Education Coalition Roster (July, 2004)

Convener

Rocky Lopes*
Independent Consultant, Disaster Preparedness
P. O. Box 9308
Silver Spring, MD 20916-9308
e-mail: convener@disastereducation.org
phone: 301-598-6886
fax: 301-598-8280

Regular participants

Patricia Adkins
Chief Operating Officer
Home Safety Council
1725 Eye Street, NW Suite 300
Washington DC 20006
e-mail: patricia.adkins@homesafetycouncil.org
phone: 202-349-1100
fax: 202-349-1123

Meri-K Appy*
President
Home Safety Council
1725 Eye Street, NW Suite 300
Washington DC 20006
e-mail: meri-k.appy@homesafetycouncil.org
phone: 202-349-1110
fax: 202-349-1123

Elizabeth B. Armstrong, MAM, CAE*
Executive Director
International Association of Emergency Managers
201 Park Washington Court
Falls Church, VA   22046-4527
e-mail: armstrong@iaem.com
phone: 703-538-1795
fax: 703-241-5603

Ann Benbow, Ph.D.
Director of Outreach and Development
American Geological Institute
4220 King Street
Alexandria, VA  22302
e-mail: aeb@agiweb.org
phone: 703-379-2480, x245
fax: 703-379-7563

Terry Brill
FEMA, Mitigation Division
500 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
e-mail: terry.brill@dhs.gov
phone: 202-646-2940
fax: 202-646-3231

Bonnie Butler
FEMA, Emergency Management Institute
16825 South Seton Avenue
Emmitsburg, MD 21727
e-mail: bonnie.butler@dhs.gov
phone: 301-447-1164
fax: 301-447-1598

Carl T. Cameron, Ph.D.
Disability Preparedness Center
1010 Wisconsin Avenue, NW
Washington, DC  20007
e-mail: ctcameron@inclusioninc.com
phone: 202-338-7158, x201

Judy Comoletti
Assistant Vice President, Public Fire Education
National Fire Protection Association
1 Batterymarch Park
P. O. Box 9101
Quincy, MA 02269
e-mail: jcomoletti@nfpa.org
phone: 617-984-7287

Anne A. Culver
Director, Disaster Services
The Humane Society of the United States
700 Professional Drive
Gaithersburg, MD 2087
e-mail: aculver@hsus.org
phone: 301-258-3103
fax: 301-258-3107

Louise Dickerson
Food Safety and Security Staff
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
Food and Drug Administration
5100 Paint Branch Parkway
College Park, MD   20770
e-mail:  lidckers@cfsan.fda.gov
phone: 301-436-2129
fax: 301-436-2605

Marianne Elbertson
Office of Food Security and Emergency Preparedness
USDA-Food Safety and Inspection Service
901 D St., SW, 3rdFloor, Room 414
Washington, DC 20024
e-mail:  Marianne.Elbertson@fsis.usda.gov
phone: 202-690-6514
fax: 202-690-6459

Donna Franklin
National Weather Service
StormReady Program
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring MD 20910
e-mail:
donna.franklin@noaa.gov
phone: 301-713-0090 x141
fax: 301-713-1598

John Gambel
FEMA, Mitigation Directorate
500 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
e-mail: john.gambel@dhs.gov
phone: 202-646-2724

Kathy Gerstner
US Fire Administration
16825 S. Seton Avenue
Emmitsburg, MD 21727
e-mail: kathy.gerstner@dhs.gov
phone: 301-447-1350

Ron Gird*
Outreach Program Manager
NOAA National Weather Service
Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services
1325 East West Highway, Room 14458
Silver Spring, MD 20910
e-mail: ron.gird@noaa.gov
phone: 301-713-0090 x154
fax: 301-713-1598

Paula Gori*
Assistant Coordinator
Landslide Hazards Program
U. S. Geological Survey
904 National Center
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive
Reston, VA 20192
e-mail: pgori@usgs.gov
phone: 703-648-6707
fax: 703-648-5483

Sam Isenberger
FEMA, Emergency Management Institute
16825 South Seton Avenue
Emmitsburg, MD 21727
e-mail: Sam.Isenberger@dhs.gov
phone: 301-447-1071
fax: 301-447-1598

David Larimer
Preparedness Division
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Department of Homeland Security
500 C Street, SW -- Rm. 706
Washington, DC 20472
e-mail: david.larimer@dhs.gov
phone: 202-646-3095
fax: 202-646-3061

Elizabeth Lemersal*
FEMA, Mitigation Division
500 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
e-mail: elizabeth.lemersal@dhs.gov
phone: 202-646-4396
fax: 202-646-3990

Hugh M. McLaurin
Associate Executive Director for Engineering Sciences
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
4330 East West Highway
Bethesda MD 20814
e-mail: hmclaurin@cpsc.gov
phone: 301-504-7531
fax: 301-504-0533

Jennifer Medearis
National Safe Kids Campaign
1301 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 1000
Washington, DC  20004-1707
e-mail: jmedearis@safekids.org
phone: 202-662-0600
fax: 202-393-2072

Angela Mickalide
Program Director
National Safe Kids Campaign
1301 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20004-1707
e-mail: amickalide@safekids.org
phone: 202-662-0600
fax: 202-393-2072

Al Murphy
National Interagency Fire Center
3833 South Development Avenue
Boise, ID 83705
e-mail: Al_Murphy@nifc.blm.gov
phone: 208-387-5169

Ann Norwood
Senior Advisor for Public Health Risk Communication
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Public Health Emergency Preparedness
Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue SW
Washington, DC  20201
e-mail: ann.norwood@hhs.gov
phone: 202-690-6730

Agnes B. Ross
FEMA, Mitigation Directorate
500 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20472
e-mail: agnes.ross@dhs.gov
phone: 202-646-2746
fax: 202-646-3689

James W. Russell, Ed.D.*
Vice President, Outreach
Institute for Business & Home Safety
4775 E. Fowler Avenue
Tampa, FL 33617
e-mail: jrussell@ibhs.org
phone: 813-286-3400 x. 111
fax: 813-286-9960

Susan Russell-Robinson*
U. S. Geological Survey
Office of the Eastern Regional Geographer
953 National Center
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive
Reston, VA 20192
e-mail: srussell@usgs.gov
phone: 703-648-6682
fax: 703-648-6684

Howard Seltzer
FDA, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
Food Safety Education Team
5100 Paint Branch Parkway
HFS-32, Room 3B021
College Park, MD 20740-3835
e-mail: Howard.Seltzer@cfsan.fda.gov
phone: 301-436-2123
fax: 301-436-2605

John Simensky
Deputy Outreach Program Manager
NOAA National Weather Service
Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
e-mail: john.simensky@noaa.gov
phone: 301-713-0090 x150
fax: 301-713-1598

William G. Swenson, Ph.D.
Disability Preparedness Center
1010 Wisconsin Avenue, NW
Washington, DC  20007
e-mail: ctcameron@inclusioninc.com
phone: 202-338-7158, x203

Ralph B. Swisher, Ph.D.*
Preparedness Division
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Department of Homeland Security
500 C Street, SW -- Rm. 706
Washington, DC 20472
e-mail: Ralph.Swisher@dhs.gov
phone: 202-646-3561
fax: 202-646-4137

Heidi Taylor
American Red Cross
Preparedness Department
2025 E Street, NW Third Floor
Washington, DC 20006
e-mail: taylorhe@usa.redcross.org
phone: 202-303-8698
fax: 202-303-0240

Dennis Wenger, Ph.D.
Program Director
The National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22230
e-mail: dwenger@nsf.gov
phone: 703-292-7014
fax: 703-292-9053

Don Wernly
NOAA National Weather Service
Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services
1325 East West Highway, Rm. 14222
Silver Spring, MD 20910
e-mail: donald.wernly@noaa.gov
phone: 301-713-0090 x138
fax: 301-713-1598

Herb White
Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services
NOAA National Weather Service
1325 East West Highway, Room 14440
Silver Spring, MD 20910
e-mail: herbert.white@noaa.gov
phone: 301-713-0090 x146
fax: 301-713-1598

Marc Wolfson
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Public Health Emergency Preparedness
Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue SW
Washington, DC  20201
e-mail: marc.wolfson@hhs.gov
phone: (202) 205-1300
fax: 202-690-6512

Joseph L. Wysocki, Ph.D.*
USDA/Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service
800 Ninth Street, SW
Washington, DC 20250
e-mail: jwysocki@csrees.usda.gov
phone: 202-401-4980
fax: 202-401-1706

* Member, NDEC Steering Committee.  The Steering Committee plans the vision and direction of the National Disaster Education Coalition, and is composed of members who have served on the Coalition for ten or more years.

The National Disaster Education Coalition
This page was updated: 11/12/04 Sponsored by HomelandPLANS.com Site by eScapes